Thursday working updates + Halloween illustration

The book working has been somewhat erratic this week due to my efforts to finish reading the Lincoln book.

I didn’t start actually start editing the novella until yesterday. I nearly forgot one of the most important rules of self-editing – distance yourself from what you wrote (rule knowledge courtesy of DM). I had to put it down for a while.

The week away from the novella also gave me some time to think about the story in a broader sort of way. I changed a character’s name and a couple of other things.

Approximate time of finished project: December 1st? That is a reasonable time frame, I think. And the lucky dogs who receive ipads and kindles and similar e-reader devices for christmas will be looking for ebooks shortly thereafter. As always, I reserve the right to change my mind.

I started writing book 2 in the annabeth series too, just a few pages. The first chapter is always the hardest for me. Working everything in, important information and background, is sometimes difficult. I’m not doing a prologue this time. It will be my first novel with no prologue.

What else? Ah, yes. I got a new drawing book! I am finally trying to learn to draw comic book style. I’ve wanted to learn for years, and I finally committed to buying a book about it. I chose this one.

I don’t actually want to draw comic books. However, I would like to do some comic book style illustrations. We’ll see how that goes.

Having three projects going is kind of nice. I find my anxiety level is lowest when I have a lot to work on but no looming business deadlines.

And now, here is a Halloween illustration. If you want to print it, click the picture to head on over to my website. It’s a freebie.

That’s all I have for now.
_________________________
Other places to find me:
http://www.LeaRyan.com/
Twitter: http://twitter.com/LeaRyan1
2 comments on “Thursday working updates + Halloween illustration

  1. Book 2 in the AnnaBeth SERIES!? YIPPY! I’m so happy to hear that! I absolutely love MacDowell Sisters and AnnaBeth! Fantastic story! I can’t wait for the next book! Can you have that completed next week? That would be great! Lol! Keep up the amazing work, my talented friend!!!!

  2. Lea Ryan says:

    Thanks! um, yeah, probably not by next week though. lol.

Leave a Reply

