movie: Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter

cover

Description from IMDB: “Abraham Lincoln, the 16th President of the United States, discovers vampires are planning to take over the United States. He makes it his mission to eliminate them.”

As you can probably imagine, there is a ton of action in this movie. Unfortunately, some of it ventures into the completely unrealistic territory. And I don’t mean unrealistic as in just vampires running around. I mean unrealistic as in not possible even in a vampire fighting fantasy setting.

I don’t usually insert spoilers, but this stuff was just so dumb, I can’t bring myself to not mention it. So, if you’re against minor spoilers, cover the next paragraph with a post-it or something.

Some semi-spoiler examples: a vampire picks up a horse, swings it around and flings it at Honest Abe. In an earlier scene, AL cuts a vampire’s throat with a knife he’s holding in his teeth. Yeah, they were pretty groan-worthy. There’s was other stuff too, but I’m not writing a research paper or anything, so we’ll move on.

I did actually like this movie, believe it or not. The acting was okay. I loved the hats and some of the outfits. I read the book a while back, so I pretty much knew what to expect. If you liked the book and can get past a few overly cheeseball moments, it’s worth watching.

Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter gets a B-.

2 comments on “movie: Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter

  1. The image you link to has access issues for me (and presumably others). I got the message “you don’t have permission to access” from amazon.
    Otherwise, I’m still not sure I’ll watch this movie ;).

Leave a Reply

