movie: The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

The movie post is a little late due to the holiday. We had a lot of fun over this way. I got some awesome stuff, gave what I hope was awesome stuff. One of our fun activities was heading to the theater for The Hobbit.

cover

From IMDB: “A younger and more reluctant Hobbit, Bilbo Baggins, sets out on a “unexpected journey” to the Lonely Mountain with a spirited group of Dwarves to reclaim a their stolen mountain home from a dragon named Smaug.”

I feel like I should mention that I’m not a Lord of the Rings geek. I’m a geek in several other ways, just not this. So I can’t really offer commentary on any nuances or inconsistencies. I’m just a chick that watched the movie.

And I liked it!

Like the other Lord of the Rings movies, this one was long. It didn’t really seem that long while we were watching it. There was plenty of entertainment, fighting and running and such. They story didn’t really lag at all that I noticed.

All of the good characters were likable in some kind of way. The dwarves vibed together quite awesomely while fighting and singing and even taking care of the dishes. Gandalf is amazing. I love him.

We saw this in Imax 3D, which was cool, but a little overwhelming with some sweeps of the camera. It was nauseating at a couple of points. Most of it was okay.

I had one more issue with the movie. I realize that this is the first installment of a trilogy, however, Unexpected Journey only set up various plot lines. Not much of anything was resolved. It almost made me wish that I had just waited until all three of the movies were out.

Despite these couple of snags, I really liked Unexpected Journey. It was fun to watch and everyone in our family enjoyed watching it. The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey gets a B+.

Leave a Reply

