2012: the writing rundown

I have pushed out the movie post to later this week because today is the last day of 2012. I need to do my year in review.

Let’s see. First, I can’t believe the year is up. They go so fast, don’t they?

We all survived the Mayan Apocalypse, mostly because it didn’t happen. Yeah, baby!

In writing news, I released 2 books. Lair of the White Wyrm and Devil in the Branch. Those were fun times.
I wrote a shortish story, a novella, and the longest book I’ve written yet, not in that order. Total new material word count for the year, not counting blogs – 124872.

Not bad for a part timer. Hopefully I’ll be able to take this gig full time somewhere in the near future. I could probably do at least double that if I could keep myself focused.

I also finally participated in Nanowrimo. I didn’t make the 50,000 word “winner” level but I did finish the rough draft of the thing I was working on within the month. That would be the novella.

I did slightly better with requesting reviews for my books. That’s been an issue for me in the past. I also learned that only about 20% of the people who offer to review books actually end up reviewing them. I have no bitterness about that because I only offer ebook copies.

And now I’m quite glad I did that. I couldn’t imagine going through the trouble and cost of shipping off print copies of books and encountering that issue. Then I would be a tad annoyed.

I figured out how to add books and do giveaways on Goodreads. That was like a mystery to me for a long time for some odd reason. There was some kind of mental block.

Last but not least, What the Dead Fear was recently used as classroom material in an English as a second language class in Thailand. WOO! How awesome is that? It’s pretty awesome, I’d say.

Well, that’s it, I guess. Happy New Year, everybody!

2 comments on “2012: the writing rundown

  1. Sounds like a really great year – especially in terms of writing achievements! Congratulations. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I think I’ll tag along with you! Best wishes for all your 2013 plans.

Leave a Reply

