movie: The Raven

My son is being hilarious tonight. He’s 9 and pretty much a relentless fountain of conversation. He said the following to me with no lead-in.

“The Chinese people were right about me. I was born near the sheep.”

He went on to explain that people at the museum he recently went to told him about Chinese horoscopes, then it made more sense.

Ok, movie! This one is going to be quick because I have a lot to do and not enough time in which to do it.

raven

The Raven

Description from IMDB: “When a madman begins committing horrific murders inspired by Edgar Allan Poe’s works, a young Baltimore detective joins forces with Poe to stop him from making his stories a reality.”

This is a movie after my own heart. I LOVE Poe. He is one of those characters from history that I would love to meet. Genius and crazy.

The Raven has a vibe similar to that of the Christina Ricci Sleepy Hollow movie from a while back. It’s equally dreary and creepy. John Cusack is great as Poe, but I don’t think he was quite as eccentric as the real Poe would have been.

Gore is present but not excessive. The story certainly doesn’t rely on it. References to Poe’s stories are fun to pick out. Overall, it’s an intelligent movie that’s fun to watch. The Raven gets an A.

Leave a Reply

