miscellaneous rambling about recent events

Hello! I am currently on writing vacation, which is great! I needed it after the obsessive editing I just went through. I am currently reading Last Days by Joyce Carol Oates. It’s a short story collection. She’s very good. I dig the intensity of her writing and the way her descriptions dig down to the marrow of a thing.

I finished up the book for the contest. It probably isn’t perfect, but I had to let it go. What is perfect? Anything? I keep having these rushes of insecurity, like did I double-check this or what if that punctuation was wrong? Then I push the doubts away. I did the best I could in the time I allotted for the project. Regardless of win or lose, I like the book. It’s a good read, I think. And to keep my perspective about this whole contest business, I keep this quote in mind.

“The goal is the work itself.”

– W. Eugene Smith

He was a photojournalist I recently read about. I love that quote because it’s so simple and true. Whenever I feel myself slipping into a particular, undesirable mindset, I use that idea as a kind of compass to lead me back to where I began.

There was no movie watching this past weekend because we were at a monster truck thing. This was our second year going. It was dusty and dirty and the stadium was filled with carbon monoxide. In other words, it was quite fun. Here are a couple of pictures of my favorite moments.

The first one is from when the Lucas Oil Crusader plowed through an RV. Nice, right? The second pic is from Maximum Destruction who should have changed his name to Efficient Destruction because he was on the track for 14 seconds before he flipped that thing onto its back. In his defense, he did continue to drive it, somehow, while it was upside down.

This coming weekend, we’re going to the Naptown Roller Girls bout. I’ll probably have pictures of that as well. Ah, I hear tell it’s Star Wars Day.

IMAG0663

IMAG0666

One comment on “miscellaneous rambling about recent events

  1. Love that quote. It’s hard to convey, that the work itself can be sufficient.

Leave a Reply

