sunrise and a movie: Total Recall

What’s up? Did we have a nice weekend? The sunrise over the field behind my house was insane. I snapped this picture of it, but of course, it doesn’t really do the sunrise justice. There were clouds almost all of the way down to the horizon. They terminated in a distinct line over the sun, which was a flaming red color. I took this picture with my phone.

sunrise

I’ve become increasingly frustrated with the camera on my phone. I take so many pictures, and this camera is pretty craptastic. I do have a real camera but I don’t exactly carry it around with me all of the time.

Movie time. I was really excited to see Total Recall. The original movie felt so original and vivid and had this wonderfully gritty feel to it.

cover

 

Here’s a description for the new one from the IMDB: “A factory worker, Douglas Quaid, begins to suspect that he is a spy after visiting Rekall – a company that provides its clients with implanted fake memories of a life they would like to have led – goes wrong and he finds himself on the run.”

Let’s see…the eye candy was good. Colin Farrell, Kate Beckinsale, Jessica Biel, all reasonably nice to look at.

I’m not sure if this was intentional, but there seemed to be some shades of other sci-fi movies in the mix of scenes. A dash of Doctor Who, a taste of Resident Evil, a bit of Blade Runner, Robocop and The Fifth Element and of course, a few nods to the original Total Recall. We have so many sci-fi titles these days. Have we reached the limit of originality? Is everything new just going to be a rehash of old? If we do stumble upon originality, will we think it’s “too weird” to appreciate it?

This incarnation of Total Recall is fueled by fighting, gun fights, hand to hand fights. Also running. There’s a significant level of cardio. The actual story wasn’t as well developed as it could have been. I would’ve gladly traded 20 minutes of running and shooting for some solid depth.

Ah well, it was entertaining to watch. Like brain junk food.

Total Recall gets a C+.

Leave a Reply

