And today, a quote

I am so ready for spring. This cold ass weather needs to g-o, for real.

I read the quote below in The Faith of a Writer (Joyce Carol Oates) and liked it so much that I wrote it down. I’m copying from notes, so I apologize if I get part of it incorrect.

“The people who influence you aren’t necessarily who you’re going to write like, but the fact of their existence, of the existence of their characters, the spirit in them, opens up a possibility in your mind.”

– John Sayles in homage to Nelson Algren

I agree completely. Reading is a bit like exploration – of a mind, a character, a story, a place. Each experience, real or the imaginary one a book offers, opens you to new ideas.

Love it.

3 comments on “And today, a quote

  1. slepsnor says:

    That’s a great quote and I wish more people thought like that.

Leave a Reply

