I heart Algernon

a

I first found Algernon Blackwood’s work a year or two ago. If I remember correctly, I was hanging out on Project Gutenberg. I downloaded Four Weird Tales. I instantly fell in love with his writing. His words flow so well, even if he is a tad long-winded at times. His descriptions don’t just describe. They infuse character into whatever he touches.

I finished The Willows yesterday, and it was just as amazing as the last thing of his that I read. I’m surprised he doesn’t get more attention. He deserves it.

If you like Poe or Lovecraft or Stoker or anyone else of the like, be sure to check out Algernon.

Here’s a link to his books on Project Gutenberg: http://www.gutenberg.org/ebooks/author/1370

The entry about him in Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Algernon_Blackwood

This entry was posted in books.

2 comments on “I heart Algernon

Leave a Reply

