a book cover

Hey there! Happy cold ass second day of Spring! When does the warm weather start? I’m ready for it; that’s for sure.

I have a book cover for Pestilence Rising. I planned to post this yesterday but then proceeded to monkey around with it some more, because that’s how I roll.

This actually went pretty well. It’s the fastest cover I’ve made yet. I had a pretty clear idea of what I wanted. I also had only one reject design. Yay!

The title font is customized, as you can probably tell. It’s supposed to be bone-like, specifically wing bone-like. The original sketch was for a font completely from scratch. The end result after conversion into Fireworks was passable but not awesome, so I switched over to Century Gothic and narrowed it to 80% of its default width. I did end up using the “P” and the “R” that I made. Then I added the bone details to all of the letters and made some adjustments to compensate for the smaller spaces between.

Here’s the finished ebook cover.

Pestilence Rising png cover

The photos are from wikimedia and used on creative commons licenses. Full credits will be listed in the book once it’s published.

Total cover art completion time (including the fail), probably about 5 hours scattered over various days.

The current project is the book trailer. I’m trying not to make it too wordy, but it will still be somewhat wordy. It’s a book. It’s the nature of the thing, you know? Ideal completion time: by Friday, but I never know what issues I might encounter. Realistically, it will probably be 2 weeks or so. Will post as tasks are completed.

Party on.

Leave a Reply

