movie: Robot and Frank

Hello, all! I am pleased to report that we did not receive the fresh round of snow that the meteorologists predicted for my neck of the woods. I wasn’t looking forward to it.

I did, however, hear a new animal noise from the field behind my house. I was lying in bed and writing last night and I kept hearing this shrill but faint noise that almost sounded like the wind and almost but not quite sounded like birds. I retrieved the girl so that she could hear the noise as well. We eventually determined we were hearing bats using echolocation in the field. I’ve never heard it before.

Sometimes I wish I could set up a night vision camera behind the house and see what goes on back there with the wildlife. It’s like a nature documentary playing out.

Anyway. Movie.

Robot and Frank

robot

Description from IMDB: “Set in the near future, an ex-jewel thief receives a gift from his son: a robot butler programmed to look after him. But soon the two companions try their luck as a heist team.”

This movie was so not a big deal when it came out. In fact, I first saw the trailer on a DVD.  It won some kind of a prize at the Sundance festival in 2012. I could tell by the trailer it was going to be one of those movies that could go either way. It would either be really good or incredibly boring.

It was not incredibly boring.  The movie is funny. Frank is quite resistant to the robot, at first. He curses at it and resists its efforts to keep him healthy. Then he starts to get attached. Then he realizes that he can use the robot to steal things. He teaches it to pick locks, etc. Since the robot has no morality programming, he just kind of goes along with it.

The sad part of this movie is that Frank is slowly losing his memory. Even as he starts to get these little pieces of his life back (stealing gives him joy), other parts are eroding.

Robot and Frank is funny and heartwarming and sad. It did lag a bit about a half hour in but picked back up later. Robot and Frank gets a B+.

Leave a Reply

