doubt

doubt

I need to tattoo these words somewhere I can see them every day. I have a tendency to chicken out, not from writing and publishing, thank God, but some marketing activities I could be doing.

I’m delaying the kickstarter again. I’m not chickening out from that. I’m okay with the kickstarter campaign because it’s a win for me no matter the outcome, the consolation prize being free advertising.

The task I’m having trouble with is creating illustrations to go with the book. The goal is to incorporate them into the trailer and use them as marketing tools elsewhere, too.

I’ve been drawing pretty much my whole life. Despite that fact, I’ve never been one of those people who can just whip something up in 30 seconds and have it look perfect. I’ve known people like that. I admire them very much. I wish I could have that level of genius.

So, there are 4 illustrations. Each features a character or two, and those are the most difficult kinds of illustrations for me. I never seem to get them right. I’ve actually had them planned for a while. I put them down, but I can’t get them out of my head, so I pick them back up.

This weekend, I put them aside for the eleventy billionth time. My confidence wavered again. Part of the one I’ve been most focused on the most wasn’t looking as good as I would have liked. Last night, I picked it back up and through some perseverance, I improved it, and when I finished, I realized that I can do this and it can be awesome. I just need to keep going. I can’t let doubt get in the way this time. I don’t want to chicken out again.

2 comments on “doubt

  1. Great phrase. Not sure where you can tattoo it though. Looks like it would be painful. Maybe post it across from the toilet?

Leave a Reply

