movie: Hansel and Gretel

cover

Description from IMDB: “Hansel & Gretel are bounty hunters who track and kill witches all over the world. As the fabled Blood Moon approaches, the siblings encounter a new form of evil that might hold a secret to their past.”

I have mixed feelings about Hansel and Gretel. I saw the trailer in the movie theater and thought it looked really cool. I’m not sure it lived up to my expectations.

The plot meandered a bit, and the witches are kind of cheesy, like Army of Darkness level of ridiculous in spots. I like Army of Darkness, but I don’t think that was what they were going for in this movie. The flying around is just plain silly looking. They aren’t super cheesy 100 percent of the time, however.

The fight scenes were fun to watch. They had some interesting weapons that weren’t really what I would call historically consistent, but then again, I didn’t watch this movie because I wanted to learn something.

Hansel and Gretel is okay if you’re looking for some cinematic junk food. It gets a B-

2 comments on “movie: Hansel and Gretel

  1. Amanda says:

    I saw the trailer in the theatre as well and also thought it looked pretty bad ass. Deceiving trailers these days! 😦 I missed seeing Evil Dead in the theatre so I can’t wait to watch it at home. I have super high hopes for that one, as well as The Conjuring! Please, Conjuring, don’t let us down lol!

    • RLDraws says:

      LOL! Yeah, I know that’s the point of the trailers, to get people excited to see the movie, but it is frustrating when the movie doesn’t live up to the expectations. I also have high hopes for Evil Dead. It could go either way, for real.

Leave a Reply

