movie: Frankenweenie

I had planned to do the kickstarter launch today but I’m still doing the get-the-damn-thing-going dance. Right now, I’m waiting on Amazon and Kickstarter to have a conversation. Bah!

Instead, today I have a movie post!

We tried to watch Lincoln. I don’t know who put that on the Netflix list. It sure as heck wasn’t me. I blame husband. While I do like to read about history, I think watching people reenact it is tremendously boring. We turned it off after like 30 minutes or so.

I prefer my movies funny, action-y and/or scary.

I was sick all weekend, so I ended up catching Frankenweenie on the ondemand cable thing yesterday afternoon.

weenie

Description from IMDB: “Young Victor conducts a science experiment to bring his beloved dog Sparky back to life, only to face unintended, sometimes monstrous, consequences.”

This movie has plenty of nods to classic horror. I’m sure the right sort of movie geek would have a great time just picking apart all the references and the character similarities. There’s the obvious Victor Frankenstein, the main character and his dog “Sparky”. The science teacher is basically Vincent Price, minus Vincent’s actual voice because, you know, he’s dead, which makes me very sad because he was like the coolest guy ever! I don’t want to insert too many spoilers, so I’m going to leave off at that.

Frankenweenie is Tim Burton at his Tim Burtonest. All the dark beauty he brings to titles like Corpse Bride and Nightmare Before Christmas is there. We have the Danny Elfman music (but it’s not a musical), the great characters, a little bit of violence. It’s a formula, but it’s a good formula in my opinion.

Frankenweenie gets an A.

Leave a Reply

