I have completed a book

Lately, life has been go-go-go. It’s crazy, like seriously. Carting the kids to and from various functions, shopping for Christmas items, which apparently no longer involves just gifts but supplies for holiday crafts at school, charity items and other miscellanea, not to mention any other store items we might need to keep the household running and of course, the occasional library trip.

I get approximately one hour of sit-down time in the evening after work, during which I may engage in one or possibly two activities, depending on my remaining stores of energy and how much homework the boy comes home with and how much assistance he requires with said homework.

One. Hour. Do you know how fast an hour can fly? Insanity. For Christmas, I would like to request a pause button for my life.

I have, however, finally managed to finish the book I started writing in March. The rough draft is done, a anyway. That isn’t full completion by a long shot, but it’s a giant leap for me.

I don’t want to say too much for now. Here are some tidbits.

It’s middle grade fiction, so, yeah. Kid’s book, basically.
Pre-edit/rewrite word count – 94000+ words, which makes it the longest thing I’ve ever written, I think.
Genre – fantasy
Favorite writing music at the time of completion – RadioHead TKOL remix and Yoga Zone.

The book is the usual children landing themselves in a magical world, a la Alice in Wonderland/ Narnia Chronicles, etc. As a kid, those were my favorite kinds of books.

It has all sorts of fun creatures in it – cannibalistic fairies, big lizards, frog people, a fire-breathing molebat and children, of course, among other things. Fun times.

I thought I’d give the publishing thing a go on this one. We’ll see how that turns out. If it doesn’t work, there’s always the back-up plan.

Peace out.

Leave a Reply

