m-o-v-i-e-s

Untitled-2

How was everyone’s holiday? Good? Yes?
I’ve been slacking off on the blog posting lately. My husband occasionally reminds me of this. I have not been slacking off on movie watching, however, so today, I’m doing short reviews of what we’ve been watching. Here we go.

Red 2
Description from IMDB: “Retired C.I.A. agent Frank Moses reunites his unlikely team of elite operatives for a global quest to track down a missing portable nuclear device.”

I really, really, really love these movies. I like when old people kick ass. I like when Bruce Willis makes his angry face and John Malkovich makes his slightly-off-kilter face. I adore Helen Mirren and Anthony Hopkins and pretty much everyone else in this movie, mostly because they are all very good at the kinds of roles they play in this story.

If you liked the first Red movie, you will probably like the sequel. I read a couple of reviews of this second installment and they weren’t very flattering. Apparently, it didn’t make as much money as the first one. I found that very surprising. There is every bit as much excitement as the first one, shooting, fighting, cloak and dagger. The story keeps the attention. If they made 100 of these movies, I would go out of my way to see every one of them.
Red 2 gets an A.

The World’s End

Description from IMDB: “Five friends who reunite in an attempt to top their epic pub crawl from 20 years earlier unwittingly become humankind’s only hope for survival.”

This movie is WEIRD. It gets off to a very slow start. So slow in fact, that about 20 minutes in, I actually considered turning it off. The characters start out whiny and boring. The main character is a sad, desperate guy. No one is having much fun, really.

Once the action gets going, there’s plenty of it. They fight and run around a lot, which is better than the boring. Then the movie just gets weirder and weirder until the weird end.

I didn’t love this one. I thought it would be better.

The World’s End gets a C-.

The Conjuring

IMDB: “Paranormal investigators Ed and Lorraine Warren work to help a family terrorized by a dark presence in their farmhouse.”

This movie is pretty cool. If I remember correctly, when it was out in the theater, it got props for being “low budget” but still being awesome. I thought it was kind of old-school, which is a good thing. It didn’t need crazy special effects. It relied on good acting and STORY, not just random gore. Always important.

I like this.

The Conjuring gets an A.

Leave a Reply

