movie: World War Z

I successfully administered medicine to a fish this weekend. It was successful in that I did not kill the fish. I do not know if the medicine will help him yet, but I can say that he seems significantly more energetic. We think he has the fin rot. My daughter figured that out. It’s either that or tuberculosis. Yes, apparently, fish tuberculosis is a thing.

We also watched World War Z.

Untitled

Description from IMDB: “United Nations employee Gerry Lane traverses the world in a race against time to stop the Zombie pandemic that is toppling armies and governments, and threatening to destroy humanity itself.”

I didn’t care much about this movie when it came out in the theaters. I was probably suffering from zombie fatigue. I was feeling a little bit better about it when we finally got it from the Netflix.

It has much in common with other zombie movies. There are a few things that set it apart. The zombies have this recklessness about them. They hurl themselves mindlessly and crawl over each other. They also do this weird teeth clamping thing. It’s pretty creepy.

I liked Brad Pitt’s character, Gerry. He seemed more thoughtful than the usual zombie movie protagonist, not really as much of a badass. He was more brains than brawn, which was good.

World War Z had a good mix of action and thought. It gets an A.

Leave a Reply

