What the heck is this

Ok, I found this partially buried in some dirt today. I thought it was a bone. I still think it looks like a bone, but when I turned it over, there was a fish face.

This first picture is the part that I saw sticking out of the dirt. It has a couple of layers with the inner one having an almost porous texture. Possibly marrow? There’s also the round indentation on one side. I don’t really know that much about bones, but I will say that it seems heavy for the size that it is if it is a bone. It weighed in at 1.4 ounces, so could it be a fossilized bone?

20140504_181129

 

 

Then I turned it over, and it was looking at me. This side looks like a freakin’ fish head.

20140504_181147

 

 

This is another view. Don’t mind my adorable fingers in the picture. I was blocking light from the window so the detail would show up. If this were a fish head, this would be the dorsal view. 

 

 

 

 

20140504_181221

 

Allrighty then, another turn and the “fish” is looking straight at us. In person, it looks more like stone from this angle. The rock or bone or whatever is a couple of colors. Most of it is a pale tan color or a gray color. This part, under what looks like the fish mouth, it’s grayer (more gray?). It looks more like rock where all those little cracks and crevices are.

20140504_181157

 

Piece of a bone? Just a weird rock? I do not know. If anyone has any ideas, I hope you will let me know. I plan to keep it, regardless, because it’s pretty freaky looking. Oh, and I found it in Indiana (US). That’s where I am. That might make some kind of difference. I know there are deer, rabbits, coyote and beaver in the area.

 

Leave a Reply

