Max

If you’ve been reading the blog for a while, you probably known about my cat, Max. He looks like this.

20140311_111616-1

Max isn’t doing so hot. He’s about 15 years old, which is the average lifespan of your average cat. A week or two ago, I had to take him to the vet. They diagnosed him with a uti and gave him like a gallon of antibiotics, which I’m still giving him. Seriously. It’s the never-ending bottle. And they gave him some valium, which I crush up and put in the antibiotics.

I have a plunger that looks like a syringe with no needle, and I have to basically shoot this stuff in his mouth. He doesn’t like it. I don’t like doing it. I’m pretty sure he isn’t happy with me.

The vet also ran some tests and found stage 4 kidney failure and hyperthyroidism. He then perscribed fluids and injections. I did the second iv (the first I had to do by myself) and injection last night, and it was awkward. I didn’t do it all of the way right. I forgot how to open the switch on the iv at first and I forgot to put pressure on the injection point, so the stuff just kind of squirted back out.

He was a good boy about it, and the process wasn’t too traumatic. He let me hold him after we finished, which made me simultaneously happy that he didn’t hate me for sticking him with needles and worried because it could mean he just doesn’t have any fight in him anymore.

I’m conflicted about the whole medication thing. I don’t know whether I’m helping him feel slightly better or whether I’m prolonging his suffering. He hasn’t been eating as well the last 5 or 6 days and he just keeps getting skinnier.

I wish I could ask him what he wants. That would make me feel infinitely better. I also hope he knows that I’m trying to help him. I don’t want him to think I’m punishing him for something or just generally tormenting him.

I do know that unless he is writhing in pain and yowling, I don’t want to have him put down. I don’t have any problem with people who do that. I know sometimes it’s the best option. But if I don’t have to, I would rather he get what he may have left. I can’t take that away from him.

He doesn’t seem to be suffering too much. I know that he is, but outwardly, his demeanor, aside from being a little miffed at me, hasn’t changed too much, so we have that, for now.

I realize there are much bigger problems in the world than my silly, old cat, but in my insignificant corner of the world, he is very important people.

2 comments on “Max

  1. lijiun says:

    May Max get better…

  2. RLDraws says:

    Thank you! I wish he would.

Leave a Reply

