Coraline the book vs Coraline the movie

Hey there, internet! The weather this week has been amazing!! I finally got to open the windows and let in some fresh air. I do so love fresh air. It’s raining now but it’s still pretty warmish, relatively speaking.

I read Coraline this week. I’m getting ready to write another kids’ book (the first one isn’t out yet), so I thought it might be good for some inspiration. I love Neil Gaiman’s work, so the more I can get, the better.

I was actually a little surprised that I liked the movie better than the book. That usually isn’t the case. I feel guilty, like I’m breaking some kind of bookworm rule.

Why did I like the film version better? The movie is more imaginative. For instance, most of the garden scenes aren’t in the book. Wybie (one of the main characters in the movie) isn’t there at all, neither is the doll with the button eyes. The story is fundamentally the same. It just lacks a lot of the color and depth the movie had.

I guess I shouldn’t be surprised. The book is only 160 pages (about 30,000 words) long, which I feel is really short. My 12-year-old son agreed. He does still plan to read it, despite or maybe because of the shortness of it.

I don’t want to say I’m disappointed because I did like it, and Gaiman is still one of my top 5 favorite authors. This just wasn’t my favorite work of his.

 

neil gaiman coraline

Leave a Reply

