Day of Many Words

I hope everyone in the US had a lovely holiday weekend. I did! There was a lot of socializing, which wore me out (#introvert), but it was a good time. After parties on 2 out of 3 days and a 1-day writing retreat, I had no energy left.

The writing retreat (hosted by The Geeky Press in Indy) was really good, long, but good. I was proofreading and I got through about a third of the book (20,000 words). I was pleased with my productivity and pleased with the state of the book. It’s in weirdly good shape for a first draft.

I was also pleased with the fanciness of the place. I took a few pictures. If you click on a picture, I think it should pull up a slideshow.

 

Most of the attendees were female, like all but 2. I then wondered if most authors in general were women and then I thought about the books I read. They’re almost all written by male authors.

I wonder why this is. It isn’t a conscious decision. When I decide whether a book is worth my time, gender is not a factor. I have never put down a book because it was written by a lady.

I will say that I don’t read overly girly books. I prefer fantasy, thriller, horror, that kind of deal. So, that genre preference might be a bit of a factor.

I decided I need to read more books written by women, and I would like to encourage other people to do the same. Ladies can write, too. I’m going to find 3 new lady authors who write the kind of books I want to read, because I should really be more supportive of my own gender and because I need to broaden my horizons.

Recommendations are welcome!

Leave a Reply

