Newness

But not writing newness. I redesigned the cover for Love and the Dark. Wanna see it? Of course you do! Otherwise, you probably would’ve moved on to the next cat video by now instead of continuing to read this nonsense.

So, here’s what the first cover looked like in case you didn’t see it.

dark thumbnail

Honestly, it’s not that great of a cover. It’s okay. I’ve definitely seen worse. I’ve seen much, much better. I’ve never been overly fond of it. I think that I reached the end of the book project, and I was ready to be done with it.

Despite my lack of love for this cover, I did attempt to use it for the print edition and then promptly changed my mind. As a front cover, it’s functional, but I couldn’t figure out how to handle the back cover in a way that looked halfway professional. It was bad.

So I proceeded with 4 redesigns. None of those worked. Into the recycle bin they went. Okay, not really. I kept all of them. I’m a digital hoarder. What can I say?

I settled on this one mostly for mood and color.

another dark forest cover

It isn’t live everywhere yet, but it will be soon. The print edition should be out in the next 2 -3 weeks if all goes as planned.

That’s it for now. Peace.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

