New Chair, Older Me

As I write this, I’m sitting in a brand-spankin-new recliner. I haven’t had a new chair in over a decade, so I am super stoked about it. This one is smaller, which feels strange. I guess I’ll get used to it. I’m also not sure there’s enough room for grouchy, old Ms. Sneaker to sit on the back like she did on the other one. I may no longer have a cat over my head on a regular basis. I don’t know how I feel about that. But I am happy with the chair, nonetheless.

I’m shooting to have the last AnnaBeth book done and out by Halloween, that and print editions for all three books. I’m currently in my last read-through right now, and then I’ll hand it off to my last line of typo defense, actually second to last, because I also have my super-powered spellcheck.

I’ve been monkeying around a little with the first two books, cleaning them up a bit as I read through the last one. Seeing the difference in the quality of writing is crazy. I cringe when I read certain parts of the first two books, because my whole approach to story and language has changed dramatically. I see a lot of fear in the older writing, especially the first book. I was timid, and it shows. The main character started out timid, so maybe that’s okay. We’ve kind of grown together, I guess.

Anyway, if I were forced to choose one book in the trilogy to recommend, it would be the last one. Good stuff.

lady-wiith-typewriter

 

Leave a Reply

