Word Math

I think about time a lot, probably because I never seem to have enough of it. The other day, while I was trapped in cubicle jail, I was thinking about how long it actually takes me to write a book. Then came the question of how fast could I write a book if I worked consistently and on a computer? I type faster on a computer than I do on my tablet or my phone. I would think most people do.

Let’s say I type 40 words a minute. I actually type faster than that if I’m just transcribing thoughts.

A decent word count for a book is 80,000 words, not too much but still a somewhat substantial length. That’s actually longer than most of my books. Mine usually run somewhere between 60,000 and 80,000 words.

40wpm = 2400 words per hour

80,000 words divided by 2400 = about  33.3 hours

And now I feel like I’m taking way too long to write books. This is less than a 40 hour work week.

Of course, this would be straight word count only, no rewriting, no proofreading, no cover art or interior layout. Still, this gives me some perspective on what I could be doing.

Here’s a picture of Bleu sleeping. He looks so innocent. BAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

img_20161107_190703563

 

Leave a Reply

