Pub Notes

So I’ve been trying to get this whole publishing beast to fly and mostly, with the exception of extreme delay on the first print book release, it’s going pretty well.

I’ve been reading a bunch of queries from authors lately. This is the first time I’ve ever been on this side of the query business, and I have some thoughts.

If you are an author, please pay attention to what the publisher accepts. I have seen this advice from literary agent blogs, etc and I can tell you that it’s really annoying when you open your inbox and you see a bunch of emails that do nothing but waste your time.

Also, please don’t try to query through a comment on a blog. Just…no.

Please don’t send books you already published, especially if they aren’t killing the game. Asking someone to pick up your slack after the fact is a no-go, for real. People are interested in new releases because they’re new.

Lastly, keep your book description brief and bare-bones simple. I keep getting these queries that I can barely finish reading, not because the writing is necessarily bad, there’s just way too much information. Seriously, I’m practically cross-eyed by the end of it. Whoever reads your query does not need every subplot and its cousin crammed into one email.

That’s all I have for now. I may have a new collection post tomorrow. We finished our movie and TV license plate collection, so it seems like an appropriate enough time to post it.

Now please enjoy this picture of a very long Bleu.

image

3 comments on “Pub Notes

  1. MichaelEdits says:

    I used to do acquisitions, so thanks for explaining that!

    (Will they listen? Have they ever listened to the other thousands of messages saying the same thing? No, but that’s a topic for another time.)

Leave a Reply

