Fear and Dust

I have a tendency to analyze everything when it comes to the way people (including me) act and how they interact. Maybe it’s a writer thing; I don’t know.

I read an article, editorial, opinion piece? I don’t know what it was, exactly. I’m not up on my journalism lingo, but anyway, this author lady was talking about how she has been trying to get one of her books published for the last 10 years.

10. As in a decade. What’s the definition of insanity, again?

So then I started asking myself why anyone would do that. In this day and age, when authors publish their own work every day, why would anyone hold out for that long? Does she have some deep-seated need for validation?

I think the more likely motivation is fear. Even things like rejection can feel like a kind of safe-zone. If no one “accepts” the book, then she doesn’t have to set it loose into the world. She doesn’t have to make it available for the general public to read. She doesn’t have to worry about bad reviews.

I get it; I really do. But life is too short. I couldn’t imagine anyone wanting to spend so many precious moments of their life begging for approval that probably won’t ever come, at least, not the way she wants. Meanwhile, her book hasn’t done anything but gather dust.

I hope she gets past it.

Image result for fear

 

3 comments on “Fear and Dust

  1. Linda M Au says:

    I think you’re right on that assessment of her actions. She apparently prefers private rejections one at a time to possible public “rejections” that are out of her control. I get it, too. But yes, life is too short. Even an eventual acceptance means years until the book hits print. And that’ll still mean doing most of her own marketing anyway.

    Onward and upward.

  2. Yup, fear indeed. I know it well and have barely gotten past it myself after five years of piddling around with not much to show for it. I hope she gets over it soon as well.

Leave a Reply

