The Wolf Cover

I designed a second cover for one of my books. There were things about the first cover that I liked and some things that I didn’t. I’ll be the first to admit that I could stand to up my cover game.

Here’s the original cover.

des-ebook-cover

The book hasn’t really been selling all that well (am I supposed to admit that?), so I thought I would slap a new coat of paint on it and see if that did anything.

I wanted it to have a more adventurous cover, one that gave a taste of the danger in the book. The first cover really doesn’t do all that. The first cover really doesn’t say much of anything other than the fact that a bottle and plants are involved somehow. Not much of a draw when you get down to it.

Here’s the wolf cover.

wolf cover

As you can see, I kept the leafy bits and the fonts. I really do like the fonts. I also slimmed up the shape a tad. The other cover seemed too wide.

The cover redesign was actually pretty easy because the scene with the wolves was already in the book trailer. Here it is on YouTube in case you didn’t see it before.

 

I just snagged what I needed and mixed it in with the elements I wanted to keep on the original cover.

The new cover probably isn’t showing up on Amazon yet, but it should here within the next 24 hours or so.

Which cover do you like better?

 

 

 

5 comments on “The Wolf Cover

  1. The second one! I love the bold colors, especially the eyes. Did you draw it yourself?

Leave a Reply

